Immersed + Linux = Life

Alexandre E Souza
2 min readApr 21, 2023

--

In this week I try use Oculus quest 2 with immersed app, but after try per some hours, not work then I thought why not work?

Here I start to do some tests, post my bad experience in discord, and every users tried help me.

Then I took all tips

First step

You need make download the immersed app
https://immersed.com/download

before open the app , you need install some dependencies

in archlinux I install

sudo pacman -S v4l2loopback-dkms v4l2loopback-utils

Now We need create the file to start Our service in boot.

vim /etc/systemd/system/v4l2loopback.service

I used video7, because my webcam use a video0

[Unit]
Description=V4L2 Loopback

[Service]
Type=simple
RemainAfterExit=yes
ExecStart=/bin/modprobe v4l2loopback card_label='Immersed Cam' video_nr=7 exclusive_caps=1
ExecStop=/bin/rmmod v4l2loopback

[Install]
WantedBy=default.target

You need enable the service

sudo systemctl enable  v4l2loopback

and start

sudo systemctl start  v4l2loopback

Beacuse we are using video7, need update ImmersedConf

vim ~/.ImmersedConf 

Now you cam open your app, and make a paring

remember to activate the camera within the immersed app, on Oculus.

OBS: if after it you see a green screen , use a make v4l2loopback manual.

https://github.com/umlaeute/v4l2loopback, is very simple :).

--

--